Heart Felt

I’ve been hoping to come across some old valentines for a while (not that I knew what I was going to do with them).  Perhaps I was searching for the nostalgia or maybe it was a reaction to my boys’ choices of Transformers and Star Wars valentines, which speak to their little hearts in ways to which I cannot relate.  There are plenty of vintage cards online, but most are overpriced (plus shipping), especially for the purpose of crafting rather than collecting.  So I was delighted to find some vintage-inspired cards at a little toy shop.  Cute, cheap and close enough!

Maybe it’s the retro vibe, but some felt and rickrack finally inspired me to make the cards into a banner for our play room windows.

First I sewed around the edge of each card to attach them to the felt (I suggest wool felt for longevity but I used acrylic because I had some on hand):

Pinking shears gave the felt a nice finished edge, and I left some room at the top to cut slits and string each card onto the rickrack:

It looked a little bare until I added the bows, but now I have a Valentine’s Day banner sweet enough for any room in the house:

6 thoughts on “Heart Felt

  1. Pingback: Your Valentine Tutorials « Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog

  2. I made something similiar, but I LOVE your ideas to use rick rack and attaching felt to the backs of the cards. To fill-in the blank gaps on mine, I used paper, heart-shaped doiles. Great tutorial!

  3. Thanks Laura! I’ve been staring at mine for two weeks now, wishing I had filled in the gaps. Maybe I’ll have to get some doilies! I also wish I had used three strands of rickrack (maybe red mixed in) and braided the cord. Just checked out your blog! Love!

Leave a Reply

